//
you're reading...
Spiritual

Shabbat Shuva

Disclaimer:  Many of you will not understand this completely because it is absolutey the ramblings of my mind and not meant to be understood by anyone else particularly… but I do encourage you to read 🙂

Never did I imagine that Abba would hold me so dear to His heart.  The promises of the Lord are clearly written for us to see in His word, but how many of us truly believe them.  How many of us truly lean and trust in those promises.  Yet, time and again, we are held up by His grace and mercy.  Today my rabbi gave a wonderful message that really hit home for me.  It spoke directly to my heart and into my life.  It was one of those word’s in which I could hear my G-d speaking to me through one of His servants clearly.

I encourage you to discover and embrace your heritage as a believer in Yeshua through studying the heritage of the decendants of Israel.  This Shabbat is known as Shabbat Shuva… the sabbath in which the Lord calls us to return.  It follows Rosh Hashanna and preceeds Yom Kippur.  Right between the Feast of Trumpets (the New Year) and the Day of Atonement… the Lord cries out to us to return to Him.  Isn’t that fitting?  I had just been speaking with some friends about how this New Year needs to mean new beginnings for me; how I need to get my life in order and progress. Yet I was finding myself having a bit of trouble in keeping my eyes on the Lord.  Here I follow Him and I’m doing an okay job I think, then…  this person says to do this thing, yet they don’t even follow it themselves!  Oh, what a trap to fall into!  Focusing on how people that we term Bible thumpers create a double standard and practice selective witnessing; it misses the entire point.  We are all imperfect and so we are called , “therefore all that they tell you, do and observe, but do not do according to their deeds; for they say things and do not do them.”  -Matthew 23:2-3  Even when we see others who speak the word of G-d to us not following it… we should do as they say and not as they do.  Ultimately if we have the Spirit of G-d, we do know right from wrong.  If He’s speaking His word into our lives, should we not follow it on account that we don’t like the method in which it came?  It only hurts us in the end and places us farther from our goal in following Him.

These people have no clue what I’m going through or where I’m coming from because they haven’t walked in my shoes.  The verses they speak directly condemn themselves.  Or even… they chose to witness to me when they keep silent before the one who really needs to hear the word of G-d.  Those were the thoughts circling around in my head.  Thoughts that despite my love for the messengers, I was unable to shake off and move past.  So, during a time when I was getting so distracted by the chaotic hypocracy around me… the Lord gently pulled my focus back to Him.  I could hear His voice beckoning to my soul, “Shuva beloved.  I see and understand even when there’s not a soul of empathy in sight.  Shuva my beloved and I will heal You.  I will pour out my wealth of grace and forgiveness upon you if you will only return to Me.”  And now He leaves me with this choice to be made.  What will I do?  The answer is clear to me…

About Shan

I'm a hard working mom of 4 who LOVES to praise the Lord! My favorite things to do are spending time with my family and loved ones, cooking, baking, and of course... eating. I also enjoy a great conversation and meeting new and interesting people. I have an open mind, but I guard my heart. My philosophy is love and be thankful!

Discussion

One thought on “Shabbat Shuva

  1. I would like to consider the ability of saying thanks to you for the professional direction I have usually enjoyed checking out your site. I am looking forward to the particular commencement of my university research and the complete prep would never have been complete without coming over to your web site. If I may be of any help to others, I’d be delighted to help by what I have learned from here.

    Posted by Ivory Loraine | January 20, 2012, 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

